The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) hosted its annual awards gala to honor award-winning African Americans in the film industry. The 5th annual awards were hosted by “Sleepy Hollows” actor Orlando Jones and actress Salli Richardson-Whitfield.

The awards highlighted the great strides made in the industry towards diversity. Recipients of the awards include Boone Isaacs, Bob and Harvey Weinstein and journalist Justin Chang who received the AAFCA’s inaugural Roger Ebert Award. Ryan Coogler, director of Fruitvale Station, was also present and was joined by the film’s producers, Forest Whitaker and Nina Yang Bongiovi, onstage to deliver a powerful acceptance speech.

“I couldn’t be more thrilled with the outcome of this year’s show,” says Gil Robertson, AAFCA president and co-founder.  “Our goal with this event is to provide our guests with an opportunity to mix, mingle and celebrate the tremendous gifts that the film industry gives to the world.”

Check out pictures of the awards gala on the following page, which features Shonda Rhimes, Forest Whitaker and many more.

1 2 3 4Next page »

Trending on The Urban Daily
<p>Facebook Live Is Loading....</p>