Two of our favorite Brooklyn MCs, Skyzoo and Torae have finally made good on their promise to drop a full length album together named for one of their best collabs, “Barrel Brothers.” The collection caves in the streets on May 27th and features guest appearances by Sean Price, Sha Stimuli and Livin Proof.

The first single, “Blue Yankee Fitted,” is !llmind produced havoc on wax paying homage to the city emblazoned on arguably the most popular fitted cap of all time; the navy blue Yankee hat. Classic, dirty “Long Red” drums, a humming bass line and a haunting vocal track set the tone for Sky and Tor’s depiction of NYC, mixed in with their signature brand of braggadocio and lyricism.

“When putting together the first single, we knew we wanted it to be something that checked everything off of the list as far as the album goes,” says Skyzoo. “The list consisting of witty lyricism, true to heart NYC production, and most importantly the feel of New York, but the New York that we grew up in and know so well. Whatever the “new New York” may be is up for debate, but the NYC that shaped us is what this album is based on. What better way to set the album up than with a song centered around the face of NY sports and the greatest hat ever. We covered all bases. No pun intended.”

“This is bigger than just a song,” adds Torae. “The Blue Yankee Fitted is a hip-hop mandate. No matter where I am in the world from Germany to Russia to Thailand there’s always a common thread, that Yankees cap. It’s part of the hip-hop uniform. For us as MCs we’re always inventing the new slang, the new fashion statements, the new literature and Blue Yankee Fitted is gonna be like an anthem. It’s most definitely a New York thing for Sky & I, but bigger than that it’s a hip-hop thing. There are folks that don’t care nothing about the Bronx Bombers but they rock a Blue Yankee Fitted on the daily, now they have a theme song to sing along.”

Make sure to peep both of Sky and Torae’s video performances in “Rhyme And Reason”...

“Barrel Brothers” TRACKLIST:

1) Intro

2) Talk Of The Town (prod. by Oh-No)

3) Make You A Believer (prod. by Jahlil Beats)

4) Tunnel Vision (prod. by !llmind)

5) Blue Yankee Fitted (prod. by !llmind)

6) All In Together (feat. Sean Price & Guilty Simpson) (prod. by Black Milk)

7) Triangle Offense (feat. Sha Stimuli) (prod. by !llmind)

8) Movie Album (skit) (prod. by Auréli1 a.k.a TIGA)

9) Albee Square Mall (feat. Livin Proof) (prod. by Praise)

10) The Hand Off (prod. by Khrysis & Cyrus Tha Great)

11) 4 Bar Friday (prod. by The Stuyvesants)

12) Memorabilia (prod. by AntMan Wonder)

13) Rediscover (feat. Blu) (prod. by MarcNfinit)

14) The Aura (prod. by DJ Premier, co-produced by AntMan Wonder)

15) Got It From Here (prod. by Apollo Brown) (bonus-itunes & vinyl only)

Like on Facebook to stay updated with the latest entertainment news and original interviews!


<p>Facebook Live Is Loading....</p>