Desktop banner image

After ruining “We Are The World” for millions of people last month, legendary producer Quincy Jones is set to ruin even more of his classic productions with his upcoming Soul Bossa Nostra tribute album.

Jones has called on a who’s who of today’s stars to cover some of his classic works, and the list of artists and the songs they are attached to make me want to vomit.

Here’s a few of the biggest offenders:

Akon “Strawberry Letter 23” (made famous by The Brothers Johnson)

Usher, Robin Thicke, LL Cool J, Trey Songz, Tyrese, Tevin Campbell “Secret Garden” (originally performed by El DeBarge, James Ingram, Al B. Sure!, and Barry White)

Ludacris “Soul Bossa Nova” (aka the Austin Powers theme, and sample source for Luda’s “Number One Spot”)

T-Pain & Robin Thicke “P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)” (originally performed by Michael Jackson)

Now I must say that it’s not all doom and gloom, as Quincy did find some people worthy of the songs they are covering:

Mary J. Blige & Q-Tip “Betcha Wouldn’t Hurt Me” (originally performed by Patti Austin)

BeBe Winans “Everything Must Change” (originally performed by Bernard Ighner)

John Legend “Tomorrow (A Better You, A Better Me)” (originally performed by Tevin Campbell)

Jennifer Hudson “You Put A Move On My Heart” (performed by Tamia on Jones’ Q’s Jook Joint album)

But then again, you’ve got Snoop Dogg doing his own interpretation of The Brothers Johnson’s disco/funk classic “Get The Funk Out Ma Face.”

I quit.

Akon’s sacrilegious cover of “Strawberry Letter 23” will be out on March 24th.

The album, Q: Soul Bossa Nostra, will be out in May or June.

RELATED: Rappers, Singers Start ‘We Are The World’ Remake

RELATED: Quincy Jones, “We’ve Spent Years Making Dumb Sexy”

<p>Facebook Live Is Loading....</p>